Thoughts on Taylor Swift’s Lover

Taylor Swift’s my role model. One of the singers I really love and take inspiration from. I am not a hardcore Swiftie, just a silent supporter. First, her ‘Love Story’ snared me in a little, and then I listened to ‘Fifteen’ and I was hooked to her music.

Her lyrics are so relatable, some haunting, and some that hit all the right hidden lines. All of them showing the facets of her life in a beautiful way. Yes, many of them are about her exes and breakups, but I love the way she is able to weave all her feelings into it. Life, Love, Betrayals, Friendships.

One of the reasons she is my favourite is because she writes songs about her life, just like I write posts about mine. Although, I’ve had times when I hated her… the break up with Harry Styles (because I was a hardcore Directioner😂) and my teen self was offended because Harry is so damn cute! Haha. I remember tweeting about it too. Those were some days.

Taylor Swift: Lover

On 23rd August (just days after my birthday) her album Lover was out. I’ve been waiting for this one so impatiently, you’d think I’d be all over the album the moment it was released (and I was… Today, i.e. Sept 1 😂)

The vibes of this album is very different from her last album Reputation–which I think was a dark era of Taylor Swift. The snake, some shade throwing, but a lot of lighthearted songs too (King of my heart is my favourite).

This is the most pink I’ve found Taylor Swift. The Happy era, I could say. Most of the songs are about her bae, Joe Alwyn. The transcendence from Reputation to Lover is… Well, she has definitely evolved. Her lyrics (listen to Archer), again so damn powerful, it makes me jealous and leave me in awe at the same time.

The album has left me rooting for her and her London boy. Most of the songs reflect how hopeful she is about her relationship with him, and that she’s ready to marry him with ‘paper rings’ too. It’s like the old Taylor’s back… Remember she said goodbye to the Old Taylor in ‘Look What You Made Me Do’? She is back, but more experienced, and more mature than ever.

Listing out my top 5 favorites from Lover:

#1 London Boy
Seriously, I’ve played it more than ten times (Eleven now as I type). The way she says ‘I fancy you’ is just so adorable. I can really feel her love for him. And Joe better not break her heart.

#2 You need to calm down
‘Shade never made anybody less gay’, ‘Say it in the streets, that’s a knockout. But you say it in a tweet, that’s a cop out’
Again, lyrics so on point. The entire song is on point.

#3 The Archer
The music is not my type. The lyrics is, though. A darker tone, and thoughts that I can so relate to.

#4 Paper Rings
Again, about her and Joe. They’ve both been pretty much silent about their relationship. This song is a glimpse of them together. It is just so cute.

#5 Miss Americana and the Heartbreak Prince
The set up seems of High school. There’s a lot of subtext in it. She talks about the bad guys (Kardashians maybe?) whispering she’s a bad girl, and about running with the Heartbreak prince.
Ps – I had to google the song to understand what it was about.🙈🤷

I also have in my list: Cruel Summer, The Man and It’s nice to have a friend (She marries her best friend. The song is simple, but I love it.)

The lady is amazing. And a marketing genius. She knows what she wants and she goes for it. I really hope the best for her.

Keep shining, Taylor.


Are you a Swiftie? Do tell me which songs of her you like!

Until next post,

Priyanka K.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.